Our Board

James Peters

James Peters - Non-Executive Chairman

James has over 30 years' experience in the power supply industry and trained with Marconi Space and Defence Systems, prior to joining Coutant Lambda, one of the UK's major power supply companies, as an internal sales engineer. He joined Powerline shortly after its formation in 1980 and was involved in all aspects of the business.

In November 1988, he founded XP. In April 2000, he was appointed as European Managing Director of the Group and was responsible for the overall management of the Group's European businesses. On 3 February 2003, James was appointed as Deputy Chairman and on 30 June 2014 appointed as Non-Executive Chairman. James moved to a non-executive role from 1 May 2012.

James is chairman of the Nominations Committee.

Duncan Penny

Duncan Penny - Chief Executive

Between October 1998 and March 2000, Duncan was the Controller for the European, Middle Eastern and African regions for Dell Computer Corporation, prior to which he spent eight years working for LSI Logic Corporation where he held senior financial positions in both Europe and Silicon Valley. From 1985 to 1990, Duncan spent five years at Coopers & Lybrand in general practice and corporate finance.

He joined XP in April 2000 as Group Finance Director. On 3 February 2003, he was appointed as Chief Executive.

Mike Laver

Mike Laver - President North America

Mike has 19 years' experience in the power supply industry. After completing his degree in Electrical Engineering at UC Santa Barbara, Mike held sales and technical positions with Power Systems Distributors, Compumech and Delta Lu Research. He joined ForeSight Electronics in 1991 and carried out various senior roles prior to their acquisition of XP Power in 2000.

Mike is currently responsible for Global sales and marketing. He joined the Board on 20 August 2002.

Gavin Griggs

Gavin Griggs - Chief Financial Officer

Gavin was appointed on 31 October 2017. Prior to joining the Group, Gavin was Chief Financial Officer of Alternative Networks, a listed Telecoms and IT services business until December 2016 when it was acquired by Daisy. Upon the acquisition he became Group Finance Director of the larger Group. Gavin has worked in various senior international finance positions including Group Financial Controller of Logica plc, Head of FP&A at SABMiller plc and Finance Director roles at PepsiCo and Sodexo.

Andy Sng- General Manager, Aisia

Andy Sng - General Manager, Asia

Andy joined the Group in July 2005 as General Manager for Asia to start and head up our Shanghai operations. He joined the Board in April 2007.

Prior to joining XP, Andy has worked in the power supply industry for eight years in various technical and commercial roles with companies such as Silicon Systems (Singapore) and Advanced Micro Devices (Singapore).

Terry Twigger

Terry Twigger - Senior Non-Executive Director

Terry joined the Board on 1 January 2015 and has a wealth of experience public company experience.

Terry joined Meggitt PLC, the FTSE100 global engineering group specialising in extreme environment components and smart sub-systems for aerospace, defence and energy markets, in July 1993 and spent 20 years with the group, the last 12 as Chief Executive. During his tenure as Chief Executive Meggitt grew its revenues from £0.4Bn to £1.6Bn through a combination of organic growth and numerous successful acquisitions. He retired from Meggitt in May 2013 and is currently a non-executive director of Essentra plc, the supplier of specialist plastic, fibre, foam and packaging products.

Terry is the senior non-executive director and chairman of the Audit Committee.

Polly Williams

Polly Williams - Non-Executive Director

Polly joined the board with effect from 1 January 2016. Polly is a chartered accountant and a former Partner at KPMG LLP. She resigned from her partnership in 2003 and since then has held a number of non-executive directorship roles, including at APS Financial Limited, Z Group plc, National Counties Building Society (as Chairman) and Scotiabank Ireland Limited. She is currently a Non-Executive Director at Jupiter Fund Management plc, TSB Group plc and Daiwa Capital Markets Europe Ltd. She is also a Trustee of the Guide Dogs for the Blind Association.

Polly is chair of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit Committee.